Derek La Ferla

Non-Executive Chairman

Derek La Ferla is an experienced corporate lawyer and company director.  He is currently Chairman of Sandfire Resources Limited and Threat Protect Australia Limited, and recently retired as Chair of Veris Limited and as Deputy Chair of BNK Banking Corporation Limited.  Derek is on the National Board of the AICD, a member of its WA Council and a fellow since 2010.  He is also a partner (part time) at large independent WA law firm, Lavan.


Derek joined the Poseidon Board as Chairman on 1 December 2019.

Geoff Brayshaw

Non-Executive Director

Geoff Brayshaw had over 35 years’ experience as a Chartered Accountant in public practice before retiring from practice in June 2005. He practiced primarily in audit and assurance, other areas of practice being corporate finance and litigation support. He gained wide experience in corporate and financial accounting for the exploration and mining industry, including iron ore and nickel.


Geoff is a Fellow of both the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and the AICD. He was National President of the ICAA in 2002. Until recently he was a Non-executive Director and Chairman of the audit committee of both Fortescue Metals Group Limited and AVEA Insurance Limited and is a former member of the Board of the Western Australian Small Business Development Corporation.


Geoff has served on the Poseidon Board since February 2008 and was Chairman between 1st October 2018 and 30 November 2019.

Felicity Gooding

Non-Executive Director

Felicity Gooding is the Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer of Minderoo, encompassing the philanthropic and private business holdings of Andrew and Nicola Forrest.


Felicity is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants with over fifteen years’ experience specialising in due diligence, mergers and acquisitions and equity and debt financing across various sectors in Washington DC, Singapore and London. Ms Gooding has held senior positions at PricewaterhouseCoopers, Diageo Plc and Fortescue Metals Group Ltd where she was instrumental in the raising of over $5bn expansion financing. Prior to joining Minderoo, Ms Gooding was an executive at potash development company Sirius Minerals Plc. Exploration Companies Inc.


Felicity was appointed Non-Executive Director on the Poseidon Board on 1 October 2018.

Karl Paganin

Non-Executive Director

Karl Paganin graduated from the University of Western Australia with a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Arts.


Mr Paganin practised with major national law firms and was then appointed as Senior Legal Counsel at the newly formed family company of the Holmes a Court family, Heytesbury Holdings where he spent 11 years. His roles varied from Senior Legal Counsel to Director of Major Projects, a role which involved having conduct of all major transactions within the Group.

Subsequent to Heytesbury, he spent 15 years as a senior Investment Banker in Perth. In 2002, he joined the Perth based Euroz Securities and established its Corporate Finance department.


In 2010, he established and was Managing Director of GMP Australia Pty Ltd an affiliate of a Canadian resource specialist Investment bank.


Karl specialises in transaction structuring, equity capital markets, mergers and acquisitions and providing strategic management advice to listed public companies. He is currently a non-executive director and Chairman of the Remuneration and Nominations Committee of 2 ASX listed companies.


Karl was appointed Non-Executive Director on the Poseidon Board on 1 October 2018.